To make a booking call
0115 9191217
or email

Craven Cottage, Peak District Holiday Cottage

For reservations please call
Antony or Nicola on 0115 9191217

The Peak District National Park

The Peak District was Britain’s first National Park, introduced in April 1951, covering some 555 square miles (1,438 sq. km). 22 million visitors a year make it the second most visited national park in the world. Around 38,000 people live in the Park over its 125 parishes.

People from all over the world come to visit the National Park for relaxation and to be at one with the natural world. With over 2,500 km of public rights of way, you can also find adventure, some of England’s finest climbing, caving, walking and cycling can be found in the Peak District.The main economic activities are in the area are tourism,Manufacturing, farming and quarrying.

The Peak district can be split into 2 significantly diverse areas. The white peak and the dark peak. The white peak is the limestone heart of the peak district, being less wild and more fertile than the dark peak. The hills are predominantly low, in places rivers have cut through the landscape to form steep sided dales, with caves and cliffs. With miles of limestone walls that cross the green hills and valleys, the white peak is an area of outstanding natural beauty.

In contrast to the white peak is the dark peak. This is the northern area of the peak district, comprising mainly of gritstone. The landscape is of bleak open moorland , steep rocky edges, outcrops, odd shaped sandstone tors, and fast flowing streams. The climate is more harsh than that of the white peak with higher rainfall, and more unstable weather patterns. But with all this comes a beauty all of its own, from the sheer feeling of space on the moors, to the purple heather, and golden moorland grasses. This is a truley unique environment that has a attraction and beauty all of its own.

Woodland forms around 8% of the Peak National Park. Natural broadleaved woodland is found in the narrow dales of the White Peak and the deep cloughs of the Dark Peak, while reservoirs often have coniferous plantations.

12% of the Peak District National Park is owned by the national trust, which exists to preserve historic and natural landscapes. There are three Trust estates, High Peak, South Peak and Longshaw. The Peak District National Park Authority owns around 5%, and other major landowners include several water companies


Peak District Millstone

Home - Peak District Holiday Cottage - Little Longstone - Attractions - Castleton - Frequently Asked Questions - Reservations - Contact Us - Special Offers - Directions - Sitemap
© Peak Hideaways All rights reserved | Company Registion Number: 6125750